Alan Tenreiro Named 2016 NASSP National Principal of the Year

Alan TenreiroKicking off National Principals Month with a bang, NASSP named Principal Alan Tenreiro the 2016 National Principal of the Year today in a surprise assembly at his school.

Tenreiro has been principal of Cumberland High School in Cumberland, RI, since 2012, and has already made a huge impact.

Attending the ceremony today was Gov. Gina Raimondo, Sen. Jack Reed, Rep. David Cicilline, Rhode Island Education Commissioner Ken Wagner, numerous state and local officials, students, teachers, and Tenreiro’s family.

Under Tenreiro’s leadership, Cumberland High School has seen increases in academic achievement, graduation rates, and the number of students gaining admission to some of the best colleges and universities in the country. Emphasizing essential skills for student success after graduation, Cumberland has doubled its Advanced Placement class offerings and expanded its STEM courses to include pre-engineering, robotics, and a biotechnology pathway.

Tenreiro also invested in the school’s current standards-based system, which has led to more uniform expectations for students, clearer feedback to students, and a focus on reporting what has been learned—not just what students have done.

“We’re happy to see Alan get this recognition,” said Cumberland Superintendent Dr. Phil Thornton. “He and his team have done a tremendous job in transforming Cumberland High School into a statewide—and now a nationally recognized—leader in educational excellence. I think Alan epitomizes all of our principals and assistant principals. If it were up to me, all of our principals would be so honored. They all do a great job.”

“Alan Tenreiro works diligently to help students reach high standards, but in the context of the students’ genuine interests,” said NASSP Executive Director JoAnn Bartoletti. “His passion for personalizing the school—a hallmark of NASSP’s Breaking Ranks framework for school improvement—keeps him moving ever forward to find creative ways to ensure each student in his school is known and well served.”

The search for the 2016 national principal of the year started in early 2015 as each state principals association selected its state principals of the year. From this pool of state winners, a panel of judges selected three finalists. A separate panel then interviewed and rigorously reviewed the finalists’ applications to select the national winner. Each finalist received a $250 grant and the national winner receives an additional $250 grant. The grants will be used to improve learning at the school.

You can learn more about the NASSP Principal of the Year program here.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.